Home » RDBMS Server » Server Utilities » Copy database to another computer (WIndows 10 12C)
Copy database to another computer [message #654330] Sat, 30 July 2016 16:26 Go to next message
derrellgore
I am new to Oracle. I installed and created a new database...no problem.

I want to copy this database to a second computer. Can anyone tell me step by step how I can do this. Basically I want to copy the database take to anther computer which has Oracle installed and put the copy on it. So I end up with a main machine and a test machine.

And then when I have things working on TEST machine I want to be able to copy back to MAIN machine.

In Microsoft SQL I accomplish this with BACKUP/RESTORE....really easy. I haven't found away to do this in Oracle.

Thanks,
Derrell
derrellgore@windstream.net
Re: Copy database to another computer [message #654333 is a reply to message #654330] Sat, 30 July 2016 20:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Welcome to this forum

Please read and follow the forum guidelines, to enable us to help you:
OraFAQ Forum Guide
How to use {code} tags and make your code easier to read

the whole Oracle Documentation set can be found at URL below

https://docs.oracle.com/database/121/nav/portal_booklist.htm

If you come from SQL Server, you'll need to be retrained; due to differences between Microsoft & Oracle
PLEASE take the time to Read The Fine Manual below

https://docs.oracle.com/database/121/CNCPT/toc.htm

For your specific problem, you need to use RMAN

https://docs.oracle.com/database/121/RCMRF/toc.htm
https://docs.oracle.com/database/121/BRADV/toc.htm

You could start with

RMAN> DUPLICATE DATABASE;
Re: Copy database to another computer [message #654339 is a reply to message #654330] Sun, 31 July 2016 07:00 Go to previous messageGo to next message
EdStevens
For starters you need to fully understand that the term 'database' means something completely different in Oracle vs. mssql. Do not proceed until you sort that out.