Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Reference fields in detail group at report level (Oracle report 10g)
icon5.gif  Reference fields in detail group at report level [message #549368] Thu, 29 March 2012 21:55 Go to next message
hnguyen
Hi Experts,
I am an oracle report beginner. I have a report w/ master group and detail group and at the report level I would like to display a text based on a value of a field in the detail group. I created a column placeholder at the report level and then assigned it a field value in the detail group. I wanted to show my text based on this value, but it did not work. Please tell me how can I make it work.

Thank you very much,

HN
Re: Reference fields in detail group at report level [message #549375 is a reply to message #549368] Fri, 30 March 2012 00:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
As usual, it is quite difficult to debug code you can't see. Could you post it?

What does "did not work" mean? Any error? Which one?
Re: Reference fields in detail group at report level [message #549624 is a reply to message #549375] Mon, 02 April 2012 09:23 Go to previous messageGo to next message
hnguyen
Hi,
The report has header and detail and in detail for example: it may return 10 line items that may expand onto 2 pages.

Page: 1/2
Line
Item Quantity UOP Stock Code
* 001 236 EA 000017738
* 002 36 EA 000017739
003 6 EA 000017740

Notes: * represents VOC item.

Page: 2/2
Line
Item Quantity UOP Stock Code
008 136 EA 000017745
009 6 EA 000017746
010 5 EA 000017747

On page 1 there is * next to line item, so at the margin I have
a displayed text "Notes: * represents VOC item.". On page 2 there is no * then I do not want to display anything.

Here is what I did, I had the CP_NOTE at the report level, the display field(F_NOTE) at the bottom of the report(margin section), and in the detail I had the formula like the following:

function CF_VOCFormula return Char is
v_temp char;
begin