Home » Other » Marketplace » How to get back to Oracle latest versions. (Windows 10, Latest Oracle versions)
How to get back to Oracle latest versions. [message #668370] Mon, 19 February 2018 20:00 Go to next message
anasjamil

Hello to all,

I must say this forum helped me a lot when I was an oracle developer a decade ago.
I am writing to request everyone to provide me feedback about how to get back to the industry since I left the development due to some unavoidable circumstances.

I used to be an oracle developer using Oracle 10g as database and Developer 6i (Forms & Reports). However, since it has been a long time, I am not sure exactly which forms & reports version is latest in the market?

Moreover, since I am rusty with my SQL skills including stored procedures, triggers (both at form level and database level), I need your expert opinion about ways to get back to oracle development based on current trends in the market?

Regards,
anas jamil
Re: How to get back to Oracle latest versions. [message #668377 is a reply to message #668370] Tue, 20 February 2018 00:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
If you want to continue where you left, nothing much changed ... Forms is still here (version 12c) and runs on web so the "background" is different (i.e. it is not a client-server any more). Though, as far as I can tell, simply by reading discussions, people throughout the world still use Forms 6i, especially in India. 10g database is also alive and kicking, mostly for those who - due to different reasons (be it money or whatever else) - didn't upgrade to a more recent version.

SQL has changed - not that "old" functionalities won't work, but some new great ones appeared so you might need to take some time to learn what's new. PL/SQL is still here (triggers, stored procedures).